Where It All Began.

Central Garage, Todmorden.
In my mid to late teens you would be sure to find me here every week-end, 'helping out'.  The owner used to buy cars at auctions and my task - with a mate - was to clean them - and I mean clean  them.  Everywhere, inside, outside, under the bonnet - everywhere.  We rarely got paid - but - when I passed my Driving Test (at the tender age of 17) neither I, nor my family had a car - Fred was great.
He also ran a car rental business (the cars of which we also used to valet) and as 'payment' I got a free car for the occasional weekend.  I was 'the business' - Ford Zephyrs and Zodiacs, Vauxhall Crestas - cruising the town and beyond  ....  Mrs MD will remember many of them.
I then got to be car 'delivery boy' - picking up and delivering customers' cars and rental cars. What a wonderful 'job' - great memories ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.