Burradoo Journal

By Burradoo

A big adventure

One thing I love about family history is the original records you find. Important records that now would be stored online are found on index cards or yellowing single pages, hand written, dog-eared, sometimes indecipherable.
 
Some of my forebears travelled about a lot – to North America, Africa, India – and I’ve pored over quite a few shipping passenger lists. But this is the first record I have found of an intercontinental flight.
 
On 17 June 1957 my first cousin once removed, Marie, and her friend Joan flew from London to New York. Marie was 32. The airline was Trans World Airlines, which at that time had a rather glamorous image (it was owned by Howard Hughes). According to the passenger manifest, 41 passengers took the flight from London to New York. There was one stop, at Shannon in Ireland. Marie and Joan’s ultimate destination was Canada, but I don’t know (yet) how they got there.
 
What a big adventure it must have seemed. Good on you, girls, and Happy International Women’s Day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.