Life after Burradoo, NSW

By MountGrace

Five generations - same name, almost

Happy International Women's Day. I thought I would celebrate by reflecting on my maternal lineage.

I understand that in Scotland, Jessie was originally a pet name for Janet. However, Jessie is also a given name in its own right and apparently these two names have been fully synonymous over two centuries. So meet my maternal ancestors. From left to right -

JANET, my great, great grandmother, born in Tarbert, Argyll, Scotland (1826 - 1871).

JANET, my great grandmother, born in Geelong, Victoria , Australia (1855 - 1928).

JESSIE, my grandmother, born in Devon Park, Victoria , Australia (1876 - 1951).

JESSIE, my mother, born in Sydney, NSW, Australia (1913 - 2009)

JAN, yours truly, born in Sydney, NSW, Australia (1949 - ).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.