Really Fresh Eggs

Dear Diary,

I am very fortunate.  My neighbors have a lovely flock of hens and provide me with really fresh eggs.  This dozen included a henny-penny calling card.  I don't wash my eggs until I'm ready to use them as this keeps them fresher longer.  My family raised chickens when I was young and it was my job to collect eggs.  I loved doing it but not the mean rooster who was my nemesis.  Outwitting him was a daily adventure.  

I spent yesterday colorizing old photographs and the extra is my mom in 1942 right after she and dad were married with one of her hens. I'm going to have a lot of fun with this!   Wow!  I just checked last years blip and it included this same picture of mom in black and white!  What a coincidence!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.