Oh Dear

How is that so many days need to be filled and then one comes along that you can’t find a spare minute in? Today was a work at home day with a zoom call to 3 classes and emails with queries that needed responses. Mr L dealt with the builders, and when my calls were over, I was summonsed to see the damage. There were lots of shaking heads and head builder was very stressed. As you can see from the photos, it was not the fairly easy job they had imagined. I didn’t understand half of what they said, but could see the broken tiles, totally rotten felting and broken beams. I was reliably informed there is also woodworm in beams and rafters. There was a scary moment when the builder was struggling to find a merchant with tiles, apparently the factories are closed due to COVID, and there is a shortage! He managed to get them in the end. 

This evening they weather proofed in case of rain and will be back tomorrow. So far, we are looking at about £3000 for this job that should have been about £800. 

In between all that I had to accompany Dog while he went about his business, because the vet wanted a wee sample! Really? Yes, but I did manage it! 

Back to the computer before the trip to the vet, where the sample was examined and declared fine! The ear infection is almost cleared, just keep up the drops for another week, nothing else needed. £82 for a look in his ear and a dip of magic paper into some wee! 

I’m sure I’ll be back at the jigsaw tomorrow with nothing else to do, although my builders seem to like cake and I’ve promised I’ll bake!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.