An old and faded print of a photo taken in my early months of camera ownership and photography. Jack Gordon and Gordon Brown sidecar racing at the East Fortune track in East Lothian (25th April 1982).

Had  a thought the other day... I know, I know, there's a novelty. How many photographs have I prints of that are visible about the house? Answer - four. One of those I bought, two I was given, and the above is the solitary one that I'd taken. Considering the tens of thousands, probably well over a hundred thousand, that I've taken over those 39 years, to find there's only one is more than a little sad. Really ought to do something about it, I suppose... not that there's been anything of note recently. Need to have a think about that, but only after sorting out all the ancient film archives. One job at a time.

Some  conciliation is that there are a good few houses and other places that have one or more of my photos displayed in them. A friend that forced me to take her wedding photos, said a few months afterwards, that a visit to her sister-in-law's home was like the wedding day all-over again - there were pictures everywhere. I did take a lot over that long day and night, to the extent that my arms ached the next day.

For the above photo, some more information and the whole picture from a scan of the negative, on t'other journal - large version is quite good considering the speed they were hurtling by at, and it was all manual focus in them days. Fortunately the negative hadn't faded like the print.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.