red in tooth and claw

I am realising more and more that a walk can be extra rewarding if you let your curiosity lead you off the beaten track.

This morning I set out on what I call the "Stepford Round" which is all on local roads and 3.5 miles long..it's a popular route and one I do when the weather is not so nice or I just feel like doing "the usual". Today, about halfway round, I came upon a deep dark wood and wondered what it would be like to walk into the middle of it (see extra).

I didn't expect to find a dead sparrowhawk. So different from the amazing "aliveness" of a bird of prey, but at least I was able to inspect her closely without fear of injury. Just look at those claws - like a velociraptor! 

We have had roofers putting up scaffolding all day. Jess is in heaven but I find it hard to concentrate. Time to go out and do some gardening, I think...

Today's walk: Stepford Round 3.68 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.