Folly

After finishing some coding very efficiently first thing this morning, I decided to take a break and go Turfing (for Scotland). This took me to three places I've seen from a distance but not really visited. Firstly Dryden Tower, a 19th century gothic folly, secondly the "Dick Vet" - officially "The Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies" - which is the University's Veterinary School and hospital. The large animal study/care was always out at "The Bush" - a former country estate south of Edinburgh - but 10-20 years ago, the whole School moved out there. In front of one of the major buildings is a rather fine mini-Kelpie (see extra) by the same artist. I then toured the rest of the Bush Estate, that has been an agriculture/biology research campus for years. 

During my outing I attended an on-line meeting to which I normally only listen, so was on hand when it came to an item on which I was expected to talk. Having satisfied the committee with my report, I carried on Turfing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.