fotoday

By fotoday

yellow hammer

I had the excuse for a drive out again today. Back to the dealership for the refitting of the fuel flap with a new one that wasn't warped.
Like the last time I went to the dealership in Chesterfield I drove back over the Peak District and called into my favourite birding spot in Shillito Woods.
It's the only pot I know that I can regularly see yellow hammers. These birds have special memories for me because they take me back to when I was about 8 years old and loved doing a jigsaw with lots of birds in it. The yellow hammer was one of my favourites and I didn't see one until I was adult. Thinking back it may have been that jigsaw that started my interest in seeing different birds. I also remember being amazed by the jay which again I had never seen as we lived in the industrial West Midlands and rarely saw the countryside.
It's funny how memories are sparked off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.