Life Savors

By osuzanna

Merlin Magic

I spent a glorious morning at Huntley Meadows.  I had bundled up and ultimately that is what made me leave as the temperatures rose rapidly into the 60's which didn't work well with my long johns and winter coat.

In the meantime, I was entertained by this beautiful Merlin.  I had forgotten how small they are compared to other raptors.  This one was being tormented by a couple of crows, who outsized the Merlin considerably.  One of the crows drove the Merlin off this perch down to the water, where it had a drink and bathed, but not without a lot of grief from a crow.  Meanwhile, the Mallards just floated by and watched.  I have loaded that activity in extra. The Merlin is better viewed in LARGE. 

In addition, an Osprey made a brief appearance and while it stayed a good distance away, it finally dove, grabbed a fish, and very obligingly flew in my direction.  I have loaded that in extra too. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.