White Crocus with Canon

Last of the lensbaby workshops with Polina Plotnikova this morning. I went to her Beginners' Flower Photography workshop in Amersham this time last year, where I was bowled over by her photo of two crocuses. She showed it again today. I simply had to try and emulate it.

By great good luck, Len had planted white crocuses on the lawn at the front in the Autumn. They did not open up today because of the dreary rainy weather. No matter. I didn't want to pick the best one. However this one had advantages. It had a bent over petal that added some structure.

Polina doesn't mind the background blowing out at all. That enables translucency of the white flower. I haven't chosen the one taken at the lowest shutter speed because I wanted some detail to show.

Of course, I had to set up all the equipment in the garage but at least the lights were already assembled. Then I repeated the exercise with a lensbaby Sweet 35 (see extra). I couldn't be sure I was focusing on the right sweet spot, even with my specs on, but I don't think it's turned out too badly.

Right, now it's time to make curried chicken tray bake which I had intended to do on Monday. I ran out of time.

Len took Basil out today. I might get out later but I suspect not. The damp weather is really energising the arthritis in my hands.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.