Did you know?

Today, according to Britannica, is the 145 anniversary of when Alexander Graham Bell had his first transmission of speech with his assistant Thomas Watson. Something to the effect "oi, come here a minute".
Anyway it got me thinking. Somewhere I have my memorabilia items from when I worked at BT, and goodness how communication has changed in those years.  I thought I might blip the home screen of my mobile phone today to illustrate just how much things have changed.
Then a little later I decided to get on with a job I have been putting off, which was to order some frames for the posters we bought before Christmas, to go on the wall upstairs along the landing.
So first job was to unroll them from their packing tube and check measurements for the frames. That is my blip, the pile of posters - now under something heavy on the dining room table.
The frames are ordered.
The Post Office Tower as it was called when I was at BT, which I was fortunate enough to visit on one occasion as I worked in London for the latter part of my career with them.
Life before the internet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.