Look ! Look! I Found the John Deer

While out riding my bike today,  I heard a loud noise, then came upon  a dust  cloud in front of me.    I spied the Green tractor, put together the 3 clues  (Noise, Green tractor, dirt cloud) and knew I was coming up on the leaf vacuum I have been talking about.
Top Pic:  Here comes the the John Deer tractor, pulling the container trailer that the leaves are vacumed into.  
Middle Pic: looks down the side of the trailer showing the dust ball blowing out of the trailer.  A great deal of air is sucked in and has to escape out of the screened canvas tarp.    The last picture shows how the vacuum head attached to a  piece of round conduit (about 7-8" in diameter).  The tractor driver  puts the tractor in low granny gear and crawls forward.  The man on the vacuum walks along and sweeps the ground, sucking up leaves, sticks, dirt, etc..  The trailer  holds a lot of leaves, about a1-2 miles worth of vacuuming.  Then they head back to the yard to dump and come back for more.   When there aren't a lot of leaves they can clean up a lot of neighborhoods.   But now, the leaf fall is really heavy so it's taking more time.  This is the second spring I have seen this combination.   It does a really great job.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.