Pateley

Looking at the weather forecast it was obvious that this was the last chance to get in a bike ride for a good few days. The weather is set to become seriously wet and windy. I wasn't feeling it at all, in either mind, body or spirit, but I knew that I wouldn't feel right in subsequent days without some decent exercise under my belt. The knees were telling me that walking and running had to be put on hold for a while yet.

Of course, once I did eventually leave, I got into the rhythm of cycling, choosing a convoluted route to Pateley Bridge that won me a couple of miles of virgin road. The town was deserted. There was a choice of three routes back home and I somehow found it within myself to choose Peat Lane.

What possesses the local council to keep steepening this road is beyond me, as if it wasn't already ridiculous enough. They seem to find ways of adding to the gradient every year. I believe they're just taking the piss now, trying to deter cyclists from using it. Well, I will keep making my annual pilgrimage just to spite them.

It was into the wind most of the way back and I only just arrived before dark. I was fit for nothing other than some TV with Forrest. I found Dating Amber on Amazon and neither of us has enjoyed a film as much in a long while. Laugh out loud funny and also heart-breakingly poignant. It was so well written. It comes thoroughly recommended. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.