The Captain

After a poor night's sleep, a slow start, and a rather lethargic day. Though I did raise the energy to apply the second coat of oil to the kitchen door in the afternoon.

I very rarely buy hardback books, but having read the review in The Guardian, couldn't resist this one, mainly out of curiosity. In the late '70s, for 5 years I worked in the Journals Production Department at Pergamon Press, owned by Robert Maxwell. It was my first job and the most demanding one I've ever had, but also the most enjoyable - we were young and fearless, worked hard, and played hard, and it always seemed to me that we did the job well for the sake of our editors, despite Maxwell. All this time later,  it's hard to believe that as Deputy Father of the NUJ Chapel I even negotiated with him! It was a job that completely changed my chosen career path, but that's another story...
Interesting times, but not covered by this particular biography, which is a fascinating read.

Lockdown 3, day 65

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.