Get this on tape

Lou Ottens died today. You might not have heard of him but I bet most of you have used his invention at some point.

Yes this is the chap who invented the tape cassette. Imagine inventing something that went on to be produced in the billons. 

I had hundreds, copies f LP's, band practices. and yes even mix tapes (although I'm sure would have called them compilations). Unreliable and with poor sound quality they were soon superseded by mini disc and then mp3. However there is still something lovely about the hiss and flutter that you can only get from a tape.

The other news today was that our BBQ cover vanished over night in the high gales. After much searching I found it... in the middle of the river.
Luckily I managed to get it out without falling in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.