Water over the dam

I had an appointment in Tobermory today so I took the opportunity to stop at the Mishnish Lochs to take some photographs.
The Lochs provide the water supply for much of the eastern side of Mull, including Tobermory. I was attracted to the northern end of the Lochs where there is rough track leading to a dam with a spillway.
When sorting through more of my Dad's slides this week I had come across some shots that he had taken around the spillway so, fifty years later, I walked in his footsteps.
The main photo is a close shot of the water pouring over the dam; the first extra is a wider shot of the dam; the second extra is the stream which carries all the excess water downhill all the way to Tobermory Bay. About a quarter of a mile downstream from this photo is a spot etched on my memory going back to when I was four years old (or there abouts).
My Grandfather and I had gone for a walk one afternoon, taking a small fishing rod with us and it was on this small, fast-flowing stream that I caught my first ever trout. It must have weighed all of three ounces but I insisted on taking it home so that my Mum could cook it for my Dad's tea. Happy memories!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.