Moments in a minor key

By Dcred

GODSPEED BUDDY

Got word today that one of my old Army mates left the parade ground for the very last time, first met Alan 9th lad in the glasses) on the 5th January 1976, he stepped up into the carriage that was taken us all to join the REME Apprentice Collage at Arbourfield, two years trade training the saw us sitting side by side flying out to Osnabruck to join our respective units, I can’t remember which regiment he was attached to but I know they were based at Roberts Barracks, Osnabruck was a big garrison in its day, there were over eleven different barracks all told, met him a couple of times over the next three years then lost touch.
Forward now to 2008, I was working in a village just outside Sunderland and I discovered he was working as a safety officer for the firm that was building a new primary school opposite the buildings I was managing, small world!
He was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer about five weeks ago, I’m glad he didn’t suffer a long wait before being called to that great workshop in the sky.
The photo was taken on a outward bound week in Wales, I’m not on it so must have been taking the snap.
RIP Alan, a -Lea sure to have known you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.