Welcome to the World

The butterflies have finally emerged. First thing this morning they were as they were yesterday. I kept checking.. then at last they appeared. I missed them fully emerging. Yesterdays chrysalis I took the photo off is the Monarch on the right in the first shot at the top. I was lucky to catch the other one emerging. The first one to emerge was a female the other was a male. The male has two black spots on its wings.

I kept watching them for the hours and they didn't move much. I think that was because after a some sun early in the morning it clouded over for most the day and there was a cool breeze. By late afternoon the female one had gone and the male one took off as I was getting a shot of him. He landed on a rosebush nearby. You can see him on the right in the bottom photo.

My youngest son is going with me over to Akaroa. I don't feel safe going on my own as I have lost more feeling in my legs. It will only be for one night and I hope to get all the Spring bulbs I bought planted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.