Lozfox2020

By Lozfox2020

First Geocache Find

Decided to try to find a geocache near me today as I realised that there is one hidden in Cofton Park. I did some research to see what the protocols are, armed myself with a pen (to sign the log) and a wrapped key ring to leave as a ‘find’. Of course I had the Geocache app on my phone and had signed up with a username.
You use the GPS satellites orbiting the planet to track the coordinates where the cache has been hidden. It took me about 5 minutes of being in the area to find the cache. I signed the log, put my key ring in the box and then messaged the owner of the cache to tell of my experience.
Geocaching was started in USA in May 2000 when GPS satellites became available to the public.
I will definitely look for more in the future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.