13

Grandson Elliot has made it to the magical "Teens". So wish I could have been with him, sister Charlotte and their parents in Ireland to help destroy the chocolate fudge cake. We had to make do with a video call.

Extra Photo Collage:
Elliot has always been a technical, mechanical type and now that the family have hi-speed internet has discovered the Star Wars films, so one of his presents was a Lego model which he finished within an hour. I have (virtually for the moment) also given him a 1910 Gold Half Sovereign which I was given on my 13th birthday by a family friend. Not something to get any great joy or fun out of, but hope over the decades he enjoys having it and if necessary he can cash it in on something later in life.

Day started with the first of 3 annual checks of our sewage water quality. While it kind of annoys me, it is absolutely right and ensures our waterways remain of such high quality. MrH who has done them for years and years is a great guy and we always have a good chat over a cup of coffee. So not all bad.

I had to take Angie to Erkheim to collect her car which was having another part replaced and at the same time asked the garage to have a look at my "emergency" purchase last July, a 1998 VW Polo with 6 months MoT. So while they took a look, Luna & I were blown around for an hour's walk. At least it was dry. The county Corona testing tent has now got two lanes - one for the full PCR test and one for the Quick 5 minute tests that the government suddenly announced were available to everyone once a week. I have no intention of taking up the offer but will continue to avoid every possible contact. After the walk got the good news the car is not "at all bad" but it will still cost €400 to get it done. The car only cost €300! But there again peace of mind and 'better the devil...' And if I only have it for a short time, at least it has a resale value. MoT then in 10 days.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.