WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Cakeism

I haven't been baking cakes since I am after all trying to lose weight, but I felt like doing some comfort cooking today. I've recently bought a couple of new-to-me cookbooks and I was going to do something from one of them. But then I saw Tamal Ray's recipe for brown butter, almond and berry traybake in today's Guardian and I had all the ingredients, so ... I'm pleased it turned out looking just like his! Very nice, with a squishy centre and chewy edges. It will definitely go on the roster for when we can actually have choir practice again. I'm starting to believe it might happen now. Most of this one will go in the freezer so I'm not tempted to eat it.

I also made beef olives for the second time in a couple of weeks, using the recipe from an old and neglected Italian book. The sauce was really good, lovely with pasta, but the olives were not as good as I remembered, possibly because we didn't have any basil.

I felt a bit ropy yesterday, and slept badly, but we are both fine today. Feeling quite perky in fact, so it's apero and Call My Agent/Dix Pour Cent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.