Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Sad Story

Day 354 of UK COVID-19 Pandemic.  First UK Vaccine 96 days ago. UK in full lockdown.

In 1995 I was working Pontypool (South Wales, UK) when I browsed the window of a framing shop and spotted the picture I've blipped. I loved it so much I went in and bought it. It's a coloured pen and ink watercolour of two Old Colliers chatting near a Coal Pit.  I can't remember exactly what I paid but am sure it was less than £75. I had it framed and put the artist business card on the back; Denis Drew and his address in Ponthir, Nr Newport (South Wales) with a contact number.

We've moved house and the picture hangs on the living room wall. Last weekend I thought it'd be nice to get a similar one from the artist so I could have a pair. Googling the name it appears he has some work exhibited in The National Gallery of Wales (Cardiff) here

I then searched on his name and village and was shocked to find he and his wife were killed on 13 November 2013 whilst they crossed the road together in Ponthir. A local newspaper article pays tribute here

The female driver Taylor McDonald was later cleared of causing their death by dangerous driving at Newport Crown Court after it was alleged she was on her phone at the time.

In October 2017, a stained glass window was unveiled at their local All Saints Church, Llanfrechfa, nr Newport.

A sad story indeed. I'm just glad I decided to look online first before phoning the number I had. At least I have a fabulous picture which I've enjoyed for a quarter of a century and nice to know Denis is so well regarded as an artist as to have work displayed in the National Museum.

Lens used:    M Mount 7Artisans 75mm F1.25 at F2.8 (manual focus)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.