Quiet reflection

Snowdrops in my Dunblane garden, and present all over this town, which adopted that hardy little flower as a symbol of peace, initially for advocacy - successfully - of gun control.

It’s always a poignant day in my adopted home place, which is quieter than usual today, and thankfully seems free of the anniversary rubber-neckers we’ve grown accustomed to.

25 years ago the horror was unleashed, I was lucky enough not to be here then, but in a radio studio as the news began to break, and I thought it was some dreadful mistake.

I know many who lost children that day, and some who survived the atrocious assault. For many years I was proud to be a trustee of the charity which emerged from the grim events of 1996, and helped create a little light from that darkness. Few locally were unscathed, and while this community has found ways to move on, they will forever remember those who were lost.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.