CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The flowering Amaryllis in the cabin

I've been meaning to photograph the flowers of the first of the amaryllis plants, which is a nearly annual ritual. This one is particularly tall this year and the flowers have all opened within a couple of days of each other. As it was rather dark I decided to go to my rather large and heavy tripod, which is stored in the cabin. It was rather crowded in there with banana plants taking up a lot of space.

By the time I was set up the sun had started to shine brightly for a few seconds at a time when breaking through between the scudding clouds. It made setting up the exposure rather tricky. I didn't have much time (there was imminent rugby to watch) and so I rather raced through the whole process and the set dressing rather let the side down. I must get a new designer in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.