LeeAnne

By LeeAnne

Reclaim the streets...

I’ve read a lot of stories this week about women’s experiences of violence and fear. We all have a story. Some of us have several. I’m in the lucky camp of having never been in a position where I’ve been on the receiving end of violence from the hands of a man. They’d only do that once.

However, I have on numerous occasions been fearful for my safety and the safety of people around me.

I’ve been followed off a bus.

I’ve carried my keys between my fingers.

I’ve stood up for someone on the end of racial hatred and had the person turn on me for speaking up.

I’ve endured misogyny and bullying that’s been knowingly overlooked by others.

I’ve called someone on the phone as I’ve walked home so that at least someone knew where I was.

I’ve asked strangers if I can walk with them as I was alone and concerned.

I’ve stopped to check on other women who have been upset and alone.

I’ve changed my route so as not to leave myself vulnerable on my walk home from work at 6pm before the clocks have gone forward.

I’ve never not thought about my safety. This is something that I would imagine many men never do. Never have to do. I’m not suggesting all men are bad, I know they are not.

I am sorry for what happened to Sarah Everard. I am sorry for what happened to Blessing Olusegun. I am even more sorry that there still seems to be a very large difference between the stories of these two women.

I lit my candle tonight to show solidarity for women everywhere.

And then I watched the news and saw yet another badly handled incident involving the women who decided to go to Clapham in person. In the midst of a pandemic I don’t think it was the sensible option, but how it ended in the shambles we see photos of today, given the subject of protest, really makes me look on in disbelief and wonder. Of all the times an exemplary outcome was required, this was up there.

Consider your surroundings.
Consider the people around you.
Consider how it feels to walk in their shoes.
Consider your actions.
Consider something you’ve never given any thought to before,
Consider your sister, your daughter, your Mum.
Consider speaking up when your mates are giving it ‘banter’.
Consider the problem and be part of the change.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.