If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Goldcrest ( Regulus regulus )

Yes it's another bird, sorry, but it isn't everyday you see, let alone chance to photograph Britain's smallest bird.   Well I suppose to be correct I should say co-smallest as the Firecrest is the same size, and almost identical to look at.

This little one, probably a female as I spotted no tinge of orange in the crest was flitting about in the Osmanthus by the feeders.  I have seen what I assume to be the same bird a few time recently.  However they move so fast and tend to keep under cover I never managed to get a shot.  The blip has no attempt at composition and is noisy.  Noisy as I needed the speed to try to freeze the bird and composition as this is a quite heavy crop with the bird near the top left of the viewfinder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.