Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

Unplanned purchase

what a lovely time
i spent in élise's shop
this: not on my list

I visited Élise's bookshop, Le Temps Qu'il Fait, with a list of books to buy or order; I wanted Baptiste Morisots Manières d'être vivant (Ways to be alive) and a collection of poems by Louise Glück, and Julie had a few requests, too.

In the end, I came back with this book (published in the same collection as Morisot's, which I ordered): it is virtually impossible for me not to buy something that is bear-related. I have a true passion for these animals. I couldn't order Glück's collection so I'll have to source it elsewhere. I found what Julie wanted, however (I'll read those too...).

A good outing, in a day during which I mostly read A Little Life. This book really is a marvel, a rollercoaster of a novel. I often find myself on the verge of tears, my heart spent... How I'll miss the characters when I'm finished! It will end up in the list of my favourite novels, too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.