Almondblossom

By Almondblossom

Cuteness alert!

It's all happening on the farm near me. On my way into town to buy a new tape measure (I know, calm down), I realised the new lambs have started to arrive. They're all quite sleepy but cute as hell. Next thing I know a truck and trailer are pulling into another field and I head over to watch. 

I've never seen this disgorging happen before; two female shepherds matched the lambs with the mums by number, releasing them out the back of the trailer one family at a time. The women hoiked the lambs out by their feet, dragged them across the ground while baa-ing to attract the ewes.

Miraculously everyone ended up in the right groups and off the shepherds went for the next batch. 1000 lambs will eventually be here - for a while anyway. I can hear the lambs at night from my bed, it's one of the highlights of the year. 

The sad bit comes when the lambs are taken away. The mums spend the next three days searching and calling for their lambs, in great distress. But for now - free entertainment on every walk, and lots of excited kids (and adults) watching the lambs hurtle around in wooly gangs. Just wonderful! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.