My Great Grandfather - mom's side

Back in the 7th grade, we were assigned to make a family tree going back to the "greats". My dad's side of the family was easy as we have documentation going back to the 15th century in the United Kingdom. My mom's side though is a bit more difficult.  My grandma's family (mom's side) only goes back to the 19th century in Sweden and Finland from what we know and can find (never done an exhaustive search though due to time and money). For some reason I never really thought of my grandfather family (mom's side) till yesterday and I was amazed at what I could find.

The oldest person I could find that would eventually link to me is buried at the Oak Hill Cemetery in East Kingston, New Hampshire. Born 1683 and lived until 1761. There are several people link to me buried in Arlington National Cemetery and the most famous I knew of till now was the founder of the New York Tribune in 1841.

Pvt Noah Greeley July 1760 - Aug 1836  At the age of 16 he enlisted in the  Revolutionary War and at the time the Commander in Chief of the Continental Army was George Washington. He spent time at Valley Forge and Bunker Hill until discharged in March 1776. 

Nothing like history...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.