Auntie Betty.

Today I attended the funeral of my Auntie Betty, via video link, as is the norm these days. She is the last of my Dad's siblings. She was 95 years old, they were all a long living family. Three girls, and my Dad. I've added an extra of them all in  their youth. Betty is the 'Gypsy' looking girl in front of my Dad, they were very alike.

She was a ballet dancer and travelled the country performing, including at the London Palladium. It was a real passion. It was so lovely to hear about her life, her funeral, like her sister's back in November was non religious, and very much a celebration of her life. She met her husband through theatre, he was a singer along with his two brothers.

She was a prolific seamstress, and made her own wedding dress out of tablecloths! 

A keen and competitive swimmer, winning many medals. And in 2008 she received her WW2 Woman's land army medal .

She had 4 children, 9 Grandchildren and 8 G.Grandchildren. As often happens these days when families move away and expand, I've lost contact with my cousins, but we're hoping for a meet-up in October.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.