A New View

When we woke up this morning it was sunny!  After many sunless days, days of grey cloud and mist, it was delightful to see the sun.
When Jan drove off to visit an ex-colleague, friend, and fellow member of the Left Party I hitched a lift with her, down to the coast so I could walk the 5km home. I started off following a path through a small wood to the sea, just to take a look and see how the frozen inlet was looking.  (See extra.) It still looked frozen but there were grey patches where water had broken through and the snow covering the ice was generally soggy. I don't think we'll be crossing the inlet on the ice again this winter.
So then I turned homewards. My plan was to follow the road but it struck me that on the disused railway the snow would be pressed down by the snow mobiles, and so it was. Walking home along the railway misses a hill and takes me places a bit off my beaten track. The blip of the yellow house, about a kilometer from our house and taken from the rail track, shows a view I don't see so often. I liked the sun on the buildings and snow and the dark cloud above and behind the house.
The days are getting longer as we approach the equinox and that feels as if it delivers a certain freedom to us. More daylight means more time in the outdoor world! Winter feels as if it is releasing it's grip and that "extra" northern  season, spring/winter is here.
PS the tracks in the snow are left by a hare.
PPS This is yesterday's picture, a backblip. Today's picture, our deck, is also published.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.