today's another day

By dbrereton

Day One

For the last 20 odd years I have enjoyed a short midweek break in the Cotswolds at this time of year with my old pal Gus.

I say old as we have been backing horses together, as a shared interest since I was 18. In our 20s we opened a joint bank account, as with Gus being a banker there is no hiding away from P/L.

Some periods over the last 30 years we have been dormat, but since Covid lockdown from Christmas we've gambled our days away all the way up to Cheltenham.

Today was a winning day, the next 3 days may well prove to be losing, but it's the taking part that counts.

The friends we missed all gathered on the ubiquitous zoom for a Guinness and some chit chat. A more sober version of the usual thing...and sadly meant I could do some work along the way too.

Day one, and I am sleeping closer to the ceiling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.