La vida de Annie

By Annie

¿Jardín?

On a local wander past our old gaff I once again looked sadly at my old garden. The new owners (absent of course with the restrictions) have seen fit to get someone to dig up the flowering shrubs, two almond trees and lots of bulbs, and cover the whole lot (including I suspect the communal sprinkler system) with plastic and tons of gravel to make an "easy care" garden. There was also trellis with jasmine and bougainvillea, and two large stone planters which I wanted to keep but were deemed too heavy to move. If I'd known, I'd have somehow taken the lot - the almond trees would be in blossom now and the bulbs flowering. Somewhere under that lot there is Minnie's grave, if they didn't also consign her body to a skip. In my time it was probably a bit messy and unkempt, but the birds came every morning for the food I put out, and likewise the tortoises, knocking on the bedroom window (ground floor apartment of course!). It was my tranquil place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.