Farmaticus

By TBay

Tractor Tuesday.

Well almost! I picked a series 1 Land Rover today. Partly because I like this model and partly as it is a sort of ‘tractor’!

 Designed by Rovers chief engineer Maurice Wilks its concept originally was a tractor as a car with it being capable of amongst other things ploughing. The steering wheel was at this stage in the centre of the cab. However by the time this vehicle was launched at the Amsterdam Motor Show on the 21st May 1948 the steering was to the side. The body was built from the plentiful Birmabright Aluminium as opposed to steel which after the war was in very short supply. This made the vehicles both light and rust resistant.  

As a baby my first trips anywhere were in the Bach of the land-rover in my pram! I can remember so well sitting in the front when older fascinated by the little sliding windows and the canvas roof. I loved it then and still love them now!

Today is Mr Tbays Birthday. See extra . A lovely steak supper rounded off a very nice day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.