Life on the go

By BarryBadcock

Men do not Read Manuals

Men do not Read Manuals
Even as a die-hard engineer for most of my working life I do fall into the camp 'Men Do Not Read Manuals'. 

Following our decision at the weekend to buy a Battery Operated Lawn Mower it arrived today very early i.e. 8:15am. 

Now, we did not need a battery strimmer but the model of Lawnmower we researched in buying was out of stock on Amazon and every other distributer. I knew it came as a kit with a strimmer so I had a look to see if the cost was much more. I nearly fell off my desk chair when I found that Good Old Argos had the kit in stock AND it was cheaper than buying the lawn mower on its own by quite a bit. 

So first thing before breakfast I was out in the garden assembling the lawnmower and it went very well. There was only one point where I had to refer to the manual. 

The strimmer was only two parts so no need for the manual at all 'I Thought'. I screwed the strimmer guard on, no problem. All I had to do was push the handle of the strimmer onto the support pole. Of all the silly things to do I put it on 180 degrees from correct, …. And it jammed …. 'Blow it I said'. Half an hour later I had it on the right way after dismantling the end so I could un jam it.

HayHo - Do you think I will read the manual next time, I have not learned yet so the odds are against it :)

Day 344 of Project 365

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.