Four seasons

I don’t normally meditate first thing in the morning, but I woke up so bleary that I tried it today. It’s been a challenge to set aside the frustrations about being in limbo in the UK. It’s encouraging that mindfulness can have a rapid impact as afterwards I did feel calmer towards the situation, and for a while the random thoughts that entered the head were kinder when they came. I am interested in the long-term potential of mindfulness but to date haven’t managed to embed it into daily life as I have done before for periods with yoga. This quote from Abraham Lincoln that I read today resonated: ‘discipline is choosing between what you want now and what you want most.’

A word about hair. With services closed, mine is now a cross between a mop and a wig. I jabbed at it with some beard trimmers, hoping to reduce bulk. This wasn’t dissimilar to a haircut I actually paid for in Maputo.

The benefit of having four seasons in one day is that the light can be interesting, as St Matthew’s Church attests.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.