Cailleach

By Cailleach

A little behind with work...

As you know, it's normally our customers who confound me, but today it was one of the doctors....

I like a nice, clearly typed prescription (eg, 14 x diazepam 5mg. Take one in the morning and one at night for 7 days).

Some of the more pretentious old school doctors like to handwrite in Latin (14 x diazepam 5mg, bds, mane et nocte) You get to know what they mean, even if they do think we're still living in ancient Rome.

Today though, I was completely baffled by a prescription. It was for '30mls olive oil with a 5ml syringe', and the instructions read, 'insert three times a day into rear'. Now I'm only almost a doctor, but it seemed to me a very odd place to be sticking a syringe.

So I phoned the doctor for a bit of clarity, and once he'd stopped laughing he told me it wasn't the patient's rear that was to be lubricated at all......


It was his r(ight) ear......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.