My Ship Finally Comes In

For 30 days, I have been waiting at the fish market for a boat to unload. Sometimes they come in with B-I-G fish (grouper and redfish), but today it was a load of herring (a bait-fish.). So, what's the difference?

Pelicans can't eat a 20-30 pound grouper, but they peli-CAN swallow a 4-5 inch herring. 

In the main post, the fisherman uses the long pole with a net, and sends it down into the bowels of the ship. He brings it up full of herring, and then slides it over to a conveyor belt. The problem? Most of the conveyor is covered with sheet metal, but there is a large hole in it. Guess who flocks to the hole? You got it...the pelicans. They "fight" for the spot where they can dip their long bills into it, and it makes for some great fun. One of the successful dippers is in my Extras. (He got two fish.)

This was the second day of unloading. Captain Lightning (I love him. A real character) told me that last night, they had unloaded 20,000 herring. 

Don't ask me how, but somehow the "message" gets out, so that many pelicans come flying in for the treat. I was really enjoying myself, and taking so many pictures...that I missed my swim exercise class.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.