Fine Weather for Ducks

I was coming back from my daily walk, my umbrella dripping and my pant legs soaking wet, when I spotted them at the bottom of the driveway.

There was a big puddle there. And all of the duckies from the house had somehow found it, and there they had congregated, enjoying the beautiful rainy day.

"To the river!" said the lead duck. (That big, green one in the center.) Yes, the roads have turned to rivers and I imagine they could travel quite far!

But I talked them into staying. For here is home, and here is where they belong. Still, on a wet and rainy day, the wild river calls, even to those who are (relatively) tame. . . .

The soundtrack song is this one, which I absolutely love (and I recommend turning it UP!): John Mellencamp, To the River.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.