Life on the go

By BarryBadcock

Drips on Daffodil Leaf - A Focus Stacking Exercise

Drips on Daffodil Leaf - A Focus Stacking Exercise

After lunch today I decided to have a play with taking photos off drips on a daffodil leaf. I also thought it would be a good idea to 're-learn' the focus stacking software I use - Helicon Focus. 

This fits in with my plans for my Spring / summer project 'Nature, Flowers and Insects'. 

Also the RPS Nature Group are holding a 'Why Focus Stack' Zoom Talk on the 27th March and I have booked onto that session too. 

I have used Helicon Focus now for about 5 years and really like it as a plug in to Lightroom and much quicker than Photoshop to produce the output stacked file. However I have not explored some of the more advanced feature like the three different stack modes and the retouching. I have found a few YouTube Videos already that are very good.

Todays exercise - Camera mounted on Focus Rail on Tripod and  I attached my new Twin Flash and set to it - Plus my trusty seat.

The picture here shows the set-up and  one of the results that was made up of 10 stacked images. 

I did get adventurous and did a 39 image stack but learned my first lesson. While I waited for the wind to drop on each shot the background was not 'As Nice' as this one I think due to movement. Plus I obviously did not wait long enough on one capture as the leaf was in the wrong place completely.  I need to learn about the retouching side of Helicon Focus or just not include that image. Its all a learning curve and keeps me off the streets :)

Day 346 of Project 365

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.