digitaldave

By DigitalDave

Construction project

Today I have kept myself busy building a mini PC. 

What is it for?? 
Well, a while ago, to get through the lockdown winter blues and to try and keep fit, we bought a smart bike trainer. This allows you to ride up hill and down dale without leaving the house, whatever the weather. When you go up hills, everything gets harder, just like on a real bike. If you are so inclined, you can also join in virtual rides or compete against others online using software such as Zwift, although I have yet to try that one. I have downloaded some of the rides I have done round here from my Strava account (.gpx files for those in the know) and it's great - a bit like cycling around in google maps. Initially we were doing this using a tablet which is a bit limited in size, functions and performance. The mini PC is to run the fully fledged windows versions of the software with, of course, a lovely big screen for the immersive experience! (Bigger is better in this case, although we don't have unlimited room). It also serves as an extra PC in the spare room too!
I did blip one of the parts a while ago before I had all the bits required to build it.
For now, a separate graphics card will have to wait, as any fellow computer nerds will know, there is currently a global shortage of them. The onboard graphics will have to do, although it's better than I expected.

In today's extra, you can see the result of my little project being put to the test cycling along Wasdale in the Lake District. Blue skies and sunshine today, and totally Covid safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.