Camera Shy

By Wildstar

Chimney Fire!

The things a girl will do to catch themselves a firefighter in their flat.  It wasn't me what started it,  honest.  Making light of it ( ! ) but it was pretty scary as I live in an attic flat contained entirely within the roof of a large house which has tinder dry battens from 1900 under the tile roof.  Neighbours on the ground floor lit an open fire and thank goodness they had had a steel liner/flue installed.  However I was not aware of that and was very worried that the roaring flames were within the chimney breast only one brick course away from the chimney breast that makes  up a considerable wall in my lounge with an outlet which is my open fireplace.  Went out onto my deck to see the glowing red flames emerging from the top.  Eeek!  Took new puppy Ginny in my arms downstairs and was thinking about putting her safely in my car but then dashed back upstairs to move a chair away from its position next to the fire place - basically behaved like a headless chicken.  Fire engine there very quickly and neighbour's partner already relaxed enough to arrive at my first floor door with the question - "did I want a Firefighter strippergram"  and introduced the cutest little firefighter.  No wonder people love them!  Felt so safe straight away - so calm.  Thermal imager took readings of the chimney pot affected once the fire was out and shortly after an eerie blue light was playing around the chimney  outlet from a fibre optic camera to check all safe.  Chief firefighter checked he was leaving with all his men....boo!  and my neighbours checked I was ok.  Neighbour Fern and I agreed we were a bit shaky and hearts still racing.  Quietly reflected when all quiet how scary that had been.  Had a catch up today and they mentioned we had made the local news, hence the Blip taken from the online version.  Later on in the news was a more serious fire which had gutted a house,  had started in the early hours but had resulted in the death of one person,  Ours was a very minor incident but later those same men were out on a more tragic call. 
No more excitement please!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.