Mining

After walking Django first thing, I set off to visit new areas of the Lothians in order to take Turf zones for the first time, as collecting "uniques" is one of the three categories in the match. I chose Newtongrange, as a place I've been many times over the years. It's one of the great mining towns of Scotland, and is home to the Mining Museum. The heart of the town is an area of ten well-spaced parallel streets - named First Street to Tenth Street - of brick-built colliery-workers' houses (see extra). 

From there I went over to Wallyford, and soon got out to Musselburgh, where I toured the costal links and lagoons, where ash from Cockenzie power station was dumped. Back home I saw that a visiting "Team Scotland" Turfer was making some navigation errors - your avatar can't hide on "Turf TV"! - so I went out to guide him around half-a-dozen of our local zones. 

The second week of the competition ends at 11:00 tomorrow, and it's looking good for Scotland to take all three categories and, with that, a 4-2 lead in the match.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.