Combi31

By Combi31

Jonathan Livingstone Seagull

Thank you all so much, who took the time and trouble to comment on my kingfisher yesterday - I was delighted to have been featured in the spotlight for the first time, if only for a pico second :-)

Herring gull - did you know that they are not seagulls, but gulls? Pure and simple... I know because Stephen Fry told me ...

See it large here

Today I was working in Bordeaux until lunchtime then I headed off to the bassin d'Arcachon on the coast - a beautiful area if you know it, and a place to get to if you haven't been.

I waited around as I saw a pair of marsh harriers hunting on the saltings - I got a couple of pics but they were not useable.

Then I found THE trail that I should have followed.

For those undergoing bad weather look away now ....

It was a beautiful day - azure blue skies and sun in Bordeaux, a little overcast with sun on the coast but warm, 20°c I have got a bit of sunburn from sitting in the dunes waiting for the marsh harriers.

I am now at home, where it is blowing an absolute hoolie outside - the whole département is on orange alert and we are not in a really windy area - I feel sorry for Jean Ribart who is in windyville - keep safe Jean!

I'm back up in Bordeaux in two weeks and hope to get here again and follow that trail - where there are apparently otters, water rails, marsh harriers (I know), bluethroats, avocet and curlews .. to name but a handful.

As usuall .. I'll be back ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.