CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

An old stag headed tree at Hardwicke Farm

Whilst driving nearby I saw a large flock of birds, possibly of fieldfares, circling above the field next to the farm buildings. I pulled off the road at the back entrance to Hardwicke Farm as I thought Imight get an interesting picture of the birds which probably won't be flying in such flocks for much longer.

When I looked down the lane I couldn't see the flock but did notice a bird sitting on the top of this stag headed tree. Close to where I parked there was another very old marker tree by the roadside which had also been cut back heavily. I expect both trees will be back in leaf soon. The stag head indicates that the tree is old and it is shedding some of its boughs. They can survive like this for a very long time. But you never know. I thought I'd grab a picture of the tree while I can. 

The background hills are the Cotswold escarpment running north to south along the side of the Severn Vale.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.