WhiskyFoxtrot

By WhiskyFoxtrot

"The epitome of organisation."

It's been a higgledy piggledy sort of a day with a few too many demands upon me. Contrary to the current trend, I don't like being busy. I like having an orderly life and regularly say no to many things to conserve my energy for things I really want to do. Sadly, at the day job the question of what I want to do rarely comes into the equation. Hey ho, I've been lucky for a long time and hopefully this week won't be as awful as I imagine it will.

I took several decidedly mediocre snapshots today - a cup of mocha, a crazily crowded bulletin board, the cover of the Daily Mail - but none of them had any life to them.

This is a photo of my husband's study. Dr T is an academic and loves books. Some of his best friends are books. When we looked at our current flat, which is much bigger than our previous flat, Dr T claims I said that he could have a library like Professor Higgins in My Fair Lady with a ladder. I have no recollection of this conversation but after we moved in it seemed like a good idea.

I think it would be fair to say that this room is one of my husband's most favourite places to be. It has many of his cherished books and it's decorated precisely to his tastes. Dr T works on many strange and bizarre subjects and these things make him a very happy man. In fact, it would be fair to say he is one of the happiest, most optimistic people I have ever met. Every day he makes me laugh. For that, and so many, many things, I am very grateful for Dr T.

We're very lucky to have room for a study and a massage studio. Dr T likes his space like this and jokingly calls it "the epitome of organisation." At least, I think he's joking. The massage studio, on the other hand, is much more Zen-like and helps quiet my monkey mind.

A room of one's own.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.