Japanese Akita And The Story Of Hachikō

I had a lovely unscheduled Top Field walk with my daughter and our hounds. I have never met a Japanese Akita when out walking before so I've decided to feature this handsome dog rather than Reynard, who we spotted by the lake this morning. I also wanted to relate the story of Hachikō, which I'm surprised that I haven't heard before.

Hachikō was an Akita who belonged to a professor at Tokyo Imperial University. He would meet Professor Ueno every day at Shibuya station on his return from work. One day the professor had a fatal cerebral haemorrhage at work. The dog continued to return to the station every day for over nine years until he died in 1935. No wonder his amazing loyalty and fidelity is celebrated. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.