Memento mori

By tooiyoake

Goodnight

Occupied myself with chores today. It was another brilliant warm day. Spring certainly is here. Currently celebrating with a beer called “Spring Prost”, seems appropriate!

Photo is of the sun setting over the nearby mountains.

I have always had an urge to watch the sun set. It’s a duty I have a hard time walking away from. It’s a siren’s call I can’t ignore. Or maybe it’s an unhealthy obsession! But if I am able to, and I happen to notice the sun is setting, I feel that I must watch it go down.

Back when I still lived in NYC and I had to wake bright and early, I would sometimes walk to the farther train station. It was only the second stop on the line and usually I had solitude while I waited. Some days, the sun was so brilliant, the skies so blue, and the city relatively quiet, that I’d let a train (or two) pass just to watch the rising sun for a few minutes longer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.