JodB

By JodB

AA Van

Whenever I see one of these, it reminds me of a driving job I did after retiring from teaching.
Usually about 6 of us were taken to the import docks at Immingham near Hull, to a giant warehouse where plain yellow vans were rolling in at one end, then slowly moving through the warehouse being ‘kitted out’ and badged up to end up like this!
Once finished, the new reg plate fitted, we were given the paperwork and drove them off to meet up with an eagerly waiting AA man, who would happily transfer his own kit across to it, and give us the keys to his old, battered, high-mileage van, which was then taken to an auction yard to be sold!
I always loved that day out, cos I could end up driving from Wigan to Hull to Edinburgh to Manchester for the swaps. It took me all over the country at my own pace, except for the one time I pulled into a service station and a chap was most disgruntled to find out I wasn’t there to fix his broken car!!
I had to make a quick exit there!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.